You are here

Open Views

Open Views is an exploration of open-source and free-culture movements around the world, stretching beyond the limits of software. The show's purpose is to provide a view into the rich world of collaborative development, open ideas, independent media, and new business models. This is a revolutionary time, with tools to aid the world, and collaboration possible from every corner of the globe. Open Views talks to the people at the front lines of this renaissance.

Listen to and download archived episodes of Open views by clicking on this link.

The guests who have appeared on Open Views thus far are:

  • Oct 3, 2006: James Moore, station manager of KRUU-LP and Roland Wells, founder of KRUU-LP
  • Oct 10, 2006: Prayas Abhinav, Creative Commons India
  • Oct 17, 2006: Mike Linksvayer , CTO
  • Oct 24, 2006: Janet Hope , Australian National University, Open Source Biotechnology Project
  • Oct 31, 2006: Siva Vaidhyanathan , author of Copyrights and Copywrongs, Anarchist in the Library, and blogger at
  • Nov 7, 2006: Abhas Abhinav, founder of, a Linux-solutions company located in Bangalore, India
  • Nov 14, 2006: Fred von Lohmann, EFF's lead IP lawyer, at Cory Doctorow's Fulbright Chair Speaker Series, USC Center for Public Diplomacy
  • Nov 21, 2006: Richard Jefferson, creator of the Biological Open Source license, and founder of Cambia , a biosciences foundation in Australia
  • Nov 28, 2006: Shannon Coulter: A&R Rep for
  • Dec 5, 2006: Mark Patterson and Ginny Barbour, of the Public Library of Science
  • Dec 12, 2006: Mark Shuttleworth, founder of the Ubuntu project, CEO of Canonical, and head of the Shuttleworth Foundation
  • Dec 19, 2006: Richard Poynder, author of the Basement Interviews, and blogger at
  • Jan 2, 2007: Wayan Vota, Director of IESC-Geekcorps (
  • Jan 9, 2007: John Perry Barlow and John Gilmore, speak at Cory Doctorow's Fulbright Chair Speaker Series at USC's Center for Public Diplomacy
  • Jan 16, 2007: Dr. Kembrew McLeod , Associate Professor at the University of Iowa, Dept. of Communications Studies, and author of Freedom of Expression
  • Jan 23, 2007: Dr. John Wilbanks, Executive Director of Science Commons, a Creative Commons project
  • Jan 30, 2007: Jennifer Papin-Ramcharan , Technical Librarian at the University of the West Indies, St. Augustine campus
  • Feb 6, 2007: Ethan Zuckerman, founder of GeekCorps, and
  • Feb 13, 2007: Melissa Hagemann, Program Manager, Information Program @ Open Society Institute
  • Feb 20, 2007: Michel Bauwens, Foundation for Peer-to-Peer Alternatives
  • Feb 27, 2007: Cory Doctorow, Copyright Reform Activist, Sci-fi Author
  • Mar 6, 2007: Laurent Kratz, CEO of
  • Mar 20, 2007: Professor Shishir Jha, Creative Commons India
  • March 27, 2007: Sunil Abraham, CEO of, on the board of the International Open Source Network (IOSN) and fellow of and
  • April 3, 2007: Professor Richard Baraniuk, creator of Connexions (
  • Lawrence Liang, Alternative Law Forum
  • Wendy Seltzer, OpenLaw, Berkman Center for Internet and Society
  • May 8, 2007: Heather Graham, Burning Man
  • May 15, 2007: Dr. Ronaldo Lemos, Creative Commons Brazil
  • May 22, 2007: Dr. David Lipman, PubMed Central, NIH
  • June 5, 2007: Doc Searls, Senior Editor, Linux Journal, author of The Cluetrain Manifesto
  • June 12, 2007: Dean Jansen, DemocracyPlayer Internet TV Platform
  • June 19, 2007: (repeat) Ronaldo Lemos, CC-Brazil
  • June 26, 2007: Bill Witherspoon, The Skyfactory - Open Book Management
  • Ethan Zuckerman, Global Voices Online
  • Mike Linksvayer, Vice President of Creative Commons
  • Bill Allison, Greg Elin from Sunlight Foundation - Citizen Journalism and governance
  • Vera Franz, Open Society Institute's IP Program
  • John Sullivan, Free Software Foundation
  • Heather Ford, iCommons
  • Joichi Ito, Chairman of Creative Commons and Six Apart Japan
  • Peter Suber, SPARC and Open Access
  • Matthew Cockerill,
  • Matthew Todd, Ginger Taylor, The Synaptic Leap